Home / Middle East Recipes / Шамали (Басбуса) – манный пирог с апельсиновым сиропом
12 May, 2017

Шамали (Басбуса) – манный пирог с апельсиновым сиропом

Middle East
Cakes
8 Portions
15M
1H
374 Calories
Shamali cake (semolina cake, basbousa
Comments : 2 Posted in : Middle East Recipes, Cakes Recipes, Рецепты Приготовления Еды, Sweets and Desserts on by : Larisa Ion Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4.83/5 (6)

Share it EVERYWHERE 🙂

Pi Yu Fb Tw Wa Em


Шамали –популярный десерт на Кипре. Он является одним из вариантов широко известного в странах Ближнего Востока пирога басбуса. Впервые я попробовала шамали в одной местной рыбной таверне. Нам его принесли, как комплимент вместе с кофе. Я была в восторге от его  интересного вкуса и сочной консистенции. Конечно же я расспросила хозяйку об ингредиентах этого чудо-пирога.

Оказалось, что шамали пекут из манной крупы, сдобавлением масла, яиц и сахара. А после того, как достанут готовый пирог из духовки, его пропитывают сиропом с добавлением лимонного или апельсинового сока. Но, главным секретным ингредиентом, который придаёт пирогу тонкий вкус и аромат, является мастика – ароматическая смола мастикового дерева. Она производится в Греции на отрове Хиос. Мастика обладает свежим и очень приятным ароматом, а так же придаёт изделиям с ней необычный вкус. Если в доме печётся пирог шамали – запах стоит обалденный.

Шамали – видео рецепт

Ингредиенты:

Для Шамали:

  • 2 яйца
  • 4 столовых ложки сахара
  • 300 г манной крупы мелкого помола
  • 2 столовых ложки греческого йогурта
  • 100 г сливочного масла, размягчённого при комнатной температуре
  • 2 гранулы мастики
  • 1 чайная ложка пекарского порошка
  • Орехи для обсыпки по вкусу

Для сиропа:

  • 1 апельсин или лимон
  • 200 г сахара
  • 300 мл холодной воды
  • 1 палочка корицы

Итак, приступим!

  1. Разогреть духовку до 180°С. Смазать форму для выпечки сливочным маслом. Отделить желтки от белков. Белки взбить в крепкую пену. Мастику растолочь в ступке. Орехи порубить ножом. Из апельсина отжать сок.
  2. В глубокой миске растереть масло с сахаром до консистенции крема. Постепенно ввести желтки, пекарский порошок, мастику и йогурт. Добавить манную крупу и тщательно перемешать. Выложить белки в миску с тестом и аккуратно, плавными движениями снизу вверх, всё перемешать. Переложить тесто в форму, немного разровнять и посыпать орехами. Выпекать 30-40 минут, проверяя готовность деревянной шпажкой.
  3. Пока шамали печётся, сварить сироп. В сотейник налить воду и всыпать сахар. Поставить на средний огнь и прогреть, постоянно помешивая, до полного растворения сахара. Влить апельсиновый сок и добавить корицу. Варить на самом слабом огне 5-10 минут. Убрать с плиты.
  4. Готовый пирог достать из духовки и, не вынимая из формы, сделать в нём множество проколов деревянной шпажкой. Процедить сироп и залить им сверху шамали. Дать постоять 10-15 минут или пока сироп полностью не впитается. Подавать с чаем или кофе.

Приятного аппетита!!!

Share it EVERYWHERE 🙂

Pi Yu Fb Tw Wa Em

Please rate this


Author: Larisa Ion

Updated:

2s COMMENTS

2 thoughts on : Шамали (Басбуса) – манный пирог с апельсиновым сиропом

  • Valentina Christophi
    October 18, 2018 at 10:55 pm

    Looks delicious I will make this tomorrow

    • Larisa Ion
      October 19, 2018 at 10:45 pm

      Great! Hope you’ll absolutely love and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Home / Middle East Recipes / Shamali cake (Semolina Cake, Basbousa)
12 May, 2017

Shamali cake (Semolina Cake, Basbousa)

Middle East
Cakes
8 Portions
15M
1H
374 Calories
Shamali cake (semolina cake, basbousa
Posted in : Middle East Recipes, Cake Recipes, Cooking Food Recipes, Sweets and Desserts on by : Larisa Ion Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4.8/5 (5)



Shamali cake or semolina cake is one of the most popular desserts in Cyprus. It’s one of the variations basbousa – traditional Middle East sweet cake. For the first time I tried shamali at one of the local fish taverns. It was served with coffee as a compliment from chef. I really liked unusual taste and moist consistency of that cake. Of course, I questioned landlady of tavern about the ingredients.

It turned out that shamali cook from semolina, eggs, butter and sugar. Ready pie is soak over with syrup, contains lemon or orange juice. But, the main secret ingredient that gives the cake a subtle flavor and aroma is mastic – a resin obtained from the mastic tree, traditionally produced on the Greek island Chios. Mastic has a fresh and very pleasant aroma, and gives products very unusual taste. If shamali is baking in the house – the smell is amazing.

Shamali cake video

Ingredients:

For Shamali cake batter:

  • 2 large eggs, separated whites from yolks
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 300 g (2/3 pound) semolina (fine)
  • 2 tablespoons Greek yogurt
  • 100 g (4 ounces) unsalted butter, softened at the room temperature
  • 2 granules mastic, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • A handful of nuts for the top, crushed

For syrup:

  • 1 orange or lemon, squeezed juice
  • 300 ml (1¼ cup) cold water
  • 200 g (1 cup) sugar
  • 1 cinnamon stick

Let’s get started!!!

  1. Preheat oven up to 180°С or 356° Butter shallow baking tin. Whisk whites until stiff.
  2. In a large bowl beat butter with sugar until smooth and creamy. Add yolks, mastic, baking powder and yogurt. Beat well. Put semolina and thoroughly mix. Then gently fold in the egg whites. Place batter into a baking tin. Sprinkle with crushed nuts and put in the oven. Bake 30-40 minutes until evenly golden. Check readiness of shamali with dry wooden skewer.
  3. While cake is baking make syrup. In a medium stew-pot mix water and sugar. Heat mix on a medium heat until sugar is melted. Add orange juice and cinnamon stick. Cook about 5-10 minutes, constantly stirring. Lightly cool down and drain.
  4. When shamali is cooked, leave it in the baking tin and pierce evenly all over with wooden skewer. Then soak over with syrup. Leave cake to rest for 10-15 minutes, until it absorb all syrup.  Serve shamali cake with tea or coffee.

Bon appétit!!!


Please rate this


Author: Larisa Ion

Updated:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *